When I saw this gapingvoid cartoon by Hugh MacLeod, I felt like he’d read my mind. I’ve been in love with New York ever since I was a kid, when we visited on a family vacation. I knew from the moment I stepped off the train that I had to live here. I’ve been here long enough that now when people ask, I say I’m from New York, not Maryland. Somewhere along the way, however, the magic has turned into routine, and even though I still love this city and can’t really see myself living anywhere else, I’ve been thinking of moving. Where would I go? I don’t have a clue. When I actually start seriously contemplating leaving, I panic. How will I get around without the subway? What if I need groceries at 2am? Where will I bike/run/rollerblade if I’m not near Central Park? And let’s not even discuss finding a job/apartment/friends. Way too overwhelming…

Call me crazy, but I think the city knows what I’m going through. And it knows how to reel me back in. My friends and I joke about it. Just when you’re fed up and want out, it throws you a job offer/new apartment/love interest/only-in-NYC experience to keep you here. For me, yesterday was one of those days. The snow-covered park, clear blue sky and warm sunshine reminded me how lovely the city can be. It was a brief break from winter that lifted my spirits and kept me smiling all day long. Thank you, New York.

