Yesterday morning, I welcomed 2011 with a breath-taking sunrise at 24,000 feet. After a brief but necessary nap, we grabbed our bags and hopped in a cab to the airport. It was 4am and as we left the hotel, we could hear the last of the revelers on Bourbon Street, saying their last goodbye to 2010 and weaving their way home.

The airport was dead and I struggled to stay awake for my flight. As soon as I boarded, I curled up against the window and closed my eyes. Sometime after takeoff, I woke up to the first rays of the sunrise peeking through the clouds. The sky was filled with white, cotton candy clouds, and in the distance I could see the first hints of orange and gold breaking through. I sat mesmerized as the sun rose in the sky, signaling the start of a new day, and a new year. I’m not usually one to wax poetic on nature’s beauty, but this moment was magical, and I can’t help but hope that it means 2011 will be a magical year.




Happy New Year everyone! May all your wishes come true…

