Last year I crossed paths with a group of very cheerful Santas singing Christmas carols and dancing in the street. Why? It was Santacon, a gathering of Santa Clauses for no reason other than to have some holiday fun. Santas meet at several places in the city, then meet up (this time in Central Park) for some revelry, then head out for a night of drinking and dancing. I can’t believe I had never heard of it!! This year, I would not miss out…

I didn’t realize how seriously Santas took their costumes–there were reindeer, elves, Waldo Santa, Elvis Santa, Captain Jack Sparrow Santa, marathon Santa, pimp Santa, various Nutcraker characters, Christmas trees, brightly wrapped boxes…there was even an elf protest to thoroughly amuse and confuse bystanders.

Poor planning on my part. A red dress, black belt and boots do not make a proper Santa. Next year!

As the Santas swarmed Bethesda Terrace in Central Park, I overheard the best line of the day between two girls: “I don’t know what’s going on! Are we in a movie??”

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

