Yesterday I ventured out of the city, to Beacon, NY for an after-work hike. We climbed up the ridge, watched the sun set on Hudson, and then went for a late-night swim. It was exhausting and exhilarating and a great way to say goodbye to summer. Sitting there, gazing out at the water, I realized that as summer comes to an end, I find myself in a bit of a funk. I’m feeling a bit disconnected, a little sluggish. Maybe because I’ve (mostly) stayed in the city, maybe because I didn’t do any of the ‘summer’ activities that I love, maybe it’s the list of half-finished project sitting around my apartment. Whatever the reason, I’m making September my rejuvenation month. This month I will:

  1. Sign up for a long-term volunteer opportunity
  2. Finish the yellow dresser DIY project
  3. Have friends over for a wii tournament
  4. Buy plexiglass for hall poster and hang
  5. Finish my glamouri scarf dress
  6. Find a new lipstick color, maybe red?
  7. Treat myself to a massage
  8. Visit Dixon
  9. Go for a 10 mile run, just for fun
  10. Make green juice (and finally use the juicer I got at Christmas)
  11. Iron the bag of clothes I’ve been tripping over for the past month
  12. Make a corset t-shirt from Natalie Chanin’s Alabama Stitch Book
  13. Buy a tripod for my camera
  14. Send a card to my friends, just because
  15. Add butterflies to Paris canvas
  16. Walk a dog
  17. Go raw for a day
  18. Find a yellow pillow for the couch
  19. Attend Fashion Night Out
  20. Be more spontaneous
  21. Organize jewelry and accessories
  22. Get a thrill on the rides at Coney Island
  23. Call home more often
  24. Swim in the ocean, splash in the surf
  25. Explore Brooklyn Flea, pick up a treasure or two
  26. Buy flowers for my apartment
  27. Challenge myself by doing something that scares me
  28. Indulge in random acts of kindness
  29. Watch The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  30. Buy a leopard bag. I’ve wanted one for AGES and this season is full of options!
